Home   /   News   /   Fond du Lac Paper Wi...
June 2, 2017

Fond du Lac Paper Wins Radebaugh Award

Fond du Lac Paper Wins Radebaugh Award Header Image

Co-authors Autumn Fisher (City of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin), Jeremy Cramer (Donohue & Associates), and Eric Lynne (Donohue & Associates) received the Gus H. Radebaugh Award during the recent Central States Water Environment Association (CSWEA) Annual Meeting. The award recognizes their efforts on the technical paper “SNRP 101: Fond du Lac WWTP Lab Experiences.” This prestigious award recognizes the most outstanding paper from those that were presented at the previous year’s annual meeting.

This paper discusses the challenges faced by the City of Fond du Lac’s Regional Wastewater Treatment and Resource Recovery Facility (FDL WTRRF) as it prepares to meet a proposed phosphorus water quality based effluent limit (WQBEL) of 0.04 milligrams per liter (mg/L) that will be effective January 1, 2022. Because of this stringent limit, the plant laboratory staff has explored a multitude of phosphorus species with a primary focus on soluble non-reactive phosphorus (sNRP). Fond du Lac currently experiences a sNRP average of 0.08 mg/L and has become increasingly interested in how this sNRP level may affect its ability to meet a future phosphorus limit of 0.04 mg/L.

“The project described in their paper has laid the groundwork for analysis of sNRP and will be of great benefit to those at other facilities who are also trying to meet stringent phosphorus limits. Eric Lynne, Autumn Fisher, and Jeremy Cramer well deserve this award for their work that is advancing knowledge in the industry,” stated Patricia Oates, CSWEA Immediate Past President.

Eric Lynne noted, “As the saying goes, ‘If you can’t measure it, you can’t manage it.’ By implementing a thorough sampling and analysis program, the team was able to confidently evaluate the feasibility of treatment technologies.”

Read the “SNRP 101: Fond du Lac WWTP Lab Experiences” paper HERE.

Learn more about the history of the Radebaugh Award and view past recipients at cswea.org/radebaugh-award

Pictured above (left to right): Eric Lynne (Donohue), Autumn Fisher (City of Fond du Lac), and Jeremy Cramer (Donohue)

Share this on: